New Diagnosis

Home Forums Pink Tent Support Forum New Diagnosis

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  AverageAmanda 6 days, 5 hours ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

hrpiowaty
    Participant

I have been diagnosed today and though I did my fair share of asking questions I still feel so confused. So here is my story

I have never had any symptoms of herpes before other than a cold sore maybe once or twice as a child. I had unprotected sex with a new partner, (he used a lubricant which I have never used before…maybe that’s unrelated but like I said, I still have a lot of questions) and I was in a bit of pain after our time together but I just attributed it to soreness I had gotten before. Then, gradually I started to feel an incredible amount of pain and noticed the sores. I went to the OB/GYN today and she said it appeared to be herpes. I immediately contacted the guy and he said “I have never even had a cold sore or any signs of herpes”. I don’t want to play the blame game because at the end of the day it won’t change anything, but I have never had signs either so I am wondering how I contacted it and how this is the first time I am ever experiencing an outbreak. I am 22 and even though I know my sexual future is not hopeless I am feeling very distraught and defeated.

Thank you for reading, any advise would help immensely.

gtvibes96
    Participant