Need advice

Home Forums Pink Tent Support Forum Need advice

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Lauren
    Participant

Hey guys,
    A few months ago I found out I had genital HSV1. It absolutely destroyed me and I can’t help but think about it everyday. Some days are better than others but i just can’t get out of my head. Im looking for some advice. One, I’d really like to know how everyone has handled dating. I feel so unlovable and that no one will ever want to be with me again. Two, how often do you guys tell your sexual partners about your diagnosis? I am on daily medication and i know genital hsv 1 had an extremely extremely low transmission rate with condoms, medication, and the vitamins I take to boost my immune system. I am only a college freshman. Will I have to tell every hook up and every future boyfriend I have? Please give me any advice im struggling. Thank you

Sister7277
    Participant

Hi Lauren, first off you are not alone! I completely relate and have had to work through the same feelings and fears. With GHSV-1 having such a low shedding rate, disclosure is more about trust than it is transmission. No one would want to find out afterwards. If you could see yourself ever having a relationship with the person, I would disclose. There are differing thoughts on having to disclose for casual sex. I have heard some experts say, for HSV1 you really don’t have to if it’s just a one-time hookup and no outbreaks (obviously using condoms, for multiple reasons).